Space station mission prepares for lift-off
/

Space station mission prepares for lift-off

Sergey Volkov of Roscosmos, Andreas Mogensen of ESA (European Space Agency) and Aidyn Aimbetov of the Kazakh Space Agency are preparing for their launch to the International Space Station. 

Veteran cosmonaut Sergey Volkov will command the Soyuz TMA-18M spacecraft. Mogensen and Aimbetov are first-timers.

Their journey to the station will begin with a lift-off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, at 4:37 am UTC Wednesday  2 September  (10:37 am in Baikonur, 12:37 am EDT, 2:37 pm AEST). NASA TV will broadcast launch coverage live at http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html 

Bill Condie

Bill Condie is a science journalist based in Adelaide, Australia.

Read science facts, not fiction...

There’s never been a more important time to explain the facts, cherish evidence-based knowledge and to showcase the latest scientific, technological and engineering breakthroughs. Cosmos is published by The Royal Institution of Australia, a charity dedicated to connecting people with the world of science. Financial contributions, however big or small, help us provide access to trusted science information at a time when the world needs it most. Please support us by making a donation or purchasing a subscription today.

Exit mobile version